Winegrowers association Beaujolais-Bourgogne

The buildings date back to the 16th and 17th centuries, but Domaine de Boischampt has only been in the Dupond family for 4 generations.

A vast planting programme is currently under way, with half a hectare of new vines planted every year. At the estate, the relationship with the vines is one of respect, revealing and releasing the full expression of the terroir. The vines are pruned using traditional methods and the work is managed on a plot-by-plot basis. There are no machines used in the vines. They are pruned using the Guyot method and the grapes are picked by hand.

In details

Area • 11 hectares

Grape variety • Gamay Noir

Appellations • 5 hectares in Beaujolais-Villages AOP, 6 hectares in Cru Juliénas AOP

Distinguishing features • Hervé Dupond is behind the creation of the Terroirs et Talents association. His brother Philippe is the winemaker of the Estate. He is also a professor at The University of wine in Suze la Rousse and consulting for the Paul Bocuse Institute.

Their vineyard is perched on very steep southfacing hillsides, at over 400 metres altitude, on diorite and schist soils, same soil as the famous Côte du Py in Morgon.

Here, the temperature range is greater, which makes for concentrated yields.

The vines are tended using traditional methods and the work is managed on a plot-by-plot basis: “Beauvernay”, “Les Quatre Cerisiers”, “Vayolette”… There are no machines used in the vines. They are pruned using the Guyot method and the grapes are picked by hand.

Domaine de Boischampt

Beaujolais-Villages

Domaine de Boischampt

Juliénas

Côtes de Nervers

Brouilly

The wine is made using classic, traditional methods, meaning whole bunches and semi-carbonic maceration that lasts between 12 and 18 days.

The wines from Domaine de Boischampt are full-bodied, spicy and authentic.

They spend two years in the bottle before being released.

Hervé and his brother Philippe Dupond are from an old caladoise family and were brought up in an atmosphere close to the vineyard thanks to the various family domains.

 

Hervé Dupond is behind the creation of the Terroirs et Talents association. His brother Philippe is the winemaker of the Estate. He is also a professor at The University of wine in Suze la Rousse and consulting for the Paul Bocuse Institute.

Contact : Domaine de Boischampt, 138 Grande Rue 69840 Jullié – contact@boischampt.fr

The “Quatre Cerisiers” parcel, where you can still find century-old fruit trees and the extraordinary land at Beauvernay, rich and south-facing. The view of the vineyard from there is magnificent and majestic.

Si les bâtiments datent des 16e et 17e siècles, le Domaine de Boischampt est dans la famille Dupond depuis « seulement » 4 générations.

Un vaste programme de plantation est actuellement en cours, à raison d’un demi hectare par an. La culture est restée traditionnelle et le travail est organisé avec une gestion à la parcelle. Il n’y a pas non plus de mécanisation, la taille réalisée en Guyot et les vendanges sont manuelles.

En détails

Surface • 11 hectares

Cépage • Gamay Noir

Appellations produites • 5 hectares en AOP Beaujolais-Villages, 6 hectares en AOP Cru Juliénas

Signes particuliers • Hervé Dupond est à l’origine du projet de création de l’association Terroirs et Talents. Son frère Philippe est l’homme vin du domaine. Il est aussi professeur à L’Université du vin de Suze la Rousse et consultant à l’Institut Paul Bocuse.

Leur vignoble est situé sur des pentes très raides orientées plein Sud, à plus de 400 mètres d’altitude, sur des sols de pierres bleues et de schistes, identiques au sol de la célèbre Côte du Py de Morgon.

A cette altitude, l’amplitude thermique est plus marquée et concentre les rendements.

La vigne est conduite en culture raisonnée et de manière respectueuse de l’environnement afin de dévoiler toute l’expression du terroir. Le terroir est organisé avec une gestion à la parcelle : « Beauvernay », « Les Quatre Cerisiers », « Vayolette »… La taille est en guyot et les vendanges manuelles.

Domaine de Boischampt

Beaujolais-Villages

Domaine de Boischampt

Juliénas

Côtes de Nervers

Brouilly

Les vins bénéficient d’une vinification classique, en méthode traditionnelle, c’est-à-dire en grappes entières avec une macération semi-carbonique qui dure entre 12 et 18 jours.

Les vins issus du Domaine de Boischampt sont charnus, épicés, authentiques et passent deux ans en bouteille avant d’être commercialisés.

Hervé et son frère Philippe Dupond sont issus d’une vieille famille caladoise et ont été élevés dans une ambiance proche du vignoble grâce aux différents domaines familiaux.

 

Hervé Dupond est à l’origine du projet de création de l’association Terroirs et Talents. Son frère Philippe, l’homme vin du domaine, est aussi professeur à L’Université du vin de Suze la Rousse et consultant à l’Institut Paul Bocuse.

Contact : Domaine de Boischampt, 138 Grande Rue 69840 Jullié – contact@boischampt.fr

La parcelle des « Quatre cerisiers » où l’on peut encore observer les arbres fruitiers centenaires, et les terres extraordinaires situées à Beauvernay, grasses et exposées plein Sud. La vue sur le vignoble y est magnifique et majestueuse.